World Indoor Rowing Championships

We are excited to announce that the 37th Annual World Indoor Rowing Championships will be hosted by the Erg Sprints and will take place on February 17–18, 2018 at TC Williams High School in Alexandria, Virginia. We’ve had a 36-year run of successful events hosted by the CRASH-B Sprints and will continue to support their race.

Moving the Championships to a new location each year will provide opportunity for more people to participate in the race, and help build greater interest in the sport. Additionally, there are many great races around the globe; moving the WIRC each year will bring these race groups into the world spotlight. Future locations are to be determined.

Scheduling is still underway, but we anticipate junior racing on Saturday, and all other races on Sunday. We will continue to release details as they are finalized, with more information coming in in September. We look forward to seeing you in February!

Bartosz Zablocki, winner of the Men's Open Hwt at the 2017 World IRC
Bartosz Zablocki, winner of the Men's Open Hwt at the 2017 World IRC.
The 36th World Indoor Rowing Championship, hosted by the CRASH-B Sprints, took place on February 12, 2017, at the Agganis Arena in Boston. Nearly 1,700 entrants from all over the world braved a severe winter storm to come to Boston and race the 2000m distance. Several world records were set, including one by 95-year-old Dorothy (Dottie) Stewart. Race videos are available to watch, as well as full results and race replays.

2017 Open Medalists

Men's Open Hwt
1 Bartosz Zablocki AZS Szczecin Rowing Club, Poland 5:45.8
2 Pavel Shurmei Belarus 5:47.8
3 Angel Fournier Rodriguez Cuba 5:49.0
Men's Open Lwt
1 Sam Melvin 6:14.6
2 Jose Gomez-Feria Real Circulo Labradores, Spain 6:16.1
3 Alex Ridenour USA 6:20.0
Women's Open Hwt
1 Olena Buryak Ukraine 6:33.0
2 Georgie Rowe Chocolate Box Training, Australia 6:40.4
3 Jose van Veen KNRB, Netherlands 6:41.7
Women's Open Lwt
1 Erin Roberts Riverside boat Club, USA 6:58.1
2 Hillary Saeger Riverside Boat Club, USA 7:06.5
3 Ann Phillips Quad Cities Rowing Association, USA 7:19.7